The Library at NHCC

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Electronic Book

The Revelation of the Breath : a Tribute to its Wisdom, Power, and Beauty / Restricted Resource Some full text available

"In this book, Stanislav Grof, Neil Douglas-Klotz, Sharon G. Mijares, Sonia Gilbert, Sheldon Kramer, Ilse Middendorf, Michael Sky, Puran Bair, and other well-known experts and international workshop leaders take up a wide range of Western, Eastern, and Middle Eastern breathing practices, describing the historical development of these techniques and philosophies, and providing examples of modern practices, stories of healing, and specific exercises for application."--Page 4 of cover.

  Reserves

Traditional Aikido : Sword, Stick and Body Arts / Vol. 1, Basic Techniques / edited by Tetsutaka Sugawara.
Print Location: GV1111 .S15 1973 vol. 1
Check availability

note: In Library Use Only
Traditional Aikido : Sword, Stick, Body Arts / Vol. 2, Advanced Techniques.
Print Location: GV1111 .S15 1974 vol. 2
Check availability

Traditional Aikido : Sword, Stick, Body Arts / Vol. 3, Applied Techniques / transl. [from the Japanese] by Kyoichiro Nunokawa, Dennis N. Tatoian ; ed. by Tetsutaka Sugawara.
Print Location: GV1111 .S15 1974 vol. 3
Check availability

note: In Library Use Only
Traditional Aikido : Sword, Stick, Body Arts / Vol. 4, Vital Techniques / transl. [from the Japanese] by Kyoichiro Nunokawa, Dennis N. Tatoian ; ed. by Tetsutaka Sugawara.
Print Location: GV1111 .S15 1974 vol. 4
Check availability

note: In Library Use Only
Traditional Aikido : Sword, Stick, Body Arts / Vol. 5, Training Works Wonders / transl. [from the Japanese] by Kyoichiro Nunokawa ; ed. by Tetsutaka Sugawara.
Print Location: GV1111 .S15 1976 vol. 5
Check availability

note: In Library Use Only

  Audio-Visual

Aiki Jo
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 A3555 2005 Resource contains video
Check availability
Includes 31 jo kata, 20 jo suburi, 31 jo kumijo, 10 kumijo and 13 jo awase. Provides most detailed instructions.
note: In Library Use Only
Aiki Ken
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 A3556 2005 Resource contains video
Check availability
Includes: 7 ken suburi, ki musubi no tachi, 5 kumitachi and henka no tachi. Complete English overdub of Japanese explanations
note: In Library Use Only
Budo
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 B836 2004 Resource contains video
Check availability

"In this remarkable program, Morihiro Saito Sensei reads and demonstrates the fifty techniques of Budo, the rare training manual of Morihei Ueshiba O-Sensei published originally in 1938. All of the techniques of Budo are presented and include taijutsu, aiki ken and jo, spear and bayonet exercises. [...] Also included in this DVD is a 65-minute lecture by Aikido Journal Editor Stanley Pranin titled 'Remembering Morihiro Saito.' This presentation was given in Denver, Colorado, in February 2003. Rare film clips and numerous historical photos--most never before published--have been incorporated into this fascinating program."--container.
note: In Library Use Only
Founder of Aikido
Print Location: GV1114.35 .M67 2004 Resource contains video
Check availability
"This DVD features the uncut version of a Japanese tv documentary titled 'Aikido' produced in 1961 and a fascinating 15-minute radio interview with the Founder"--From container.
note: In Library Use Only
The Lost Seminars Italy, 1985-1986 /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 L678 2005 Resource contains video
Check availability

"This DVD contains rare footage of two seminars conducted by Morihiro Saito Sensei in 1985-86 in Italy that sat in storage for nearly two decades. Now fully restored using digital technology, these seminars of Saito Sensei at his peak are now available for the public. This is an outstanding opportunity to see and learn from Saito Sensei in his prime. Several sessions are presented with Saito Sensei explaining and demonstrating scores of aikido and weapons techniques in his own inimitable manner." -- container.
note: In Library Use Only
The Lost Seminars Italy, May 1985 /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 L678 2006 Resource contains video
Check availability
"This DVD features an outstanding seminar given by Morihiro Saito Sensei in Italy in May 1985. Saito Sensei was 58 years old at the time and in fine form. This particular event was the third of many seminars he would give over the years in Italy. The program also includes an introduction and closing comments by Aikido Journal Editor Stanley Pranin who accompanied Saito Sensei during these seminars as his interpreter. This high-quality, professionally shot event has now been fully restored and is presented for the first time."--container.
note: In Library Use Only
The Lost Seminars San Diego, California, February 1988 /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 L678 2008 Resource contains video
Check availability
"This is the third part of a DVD series presenting never-before-seen footage of Morihiro Saito Sensei as he appeared in 1988 while teaching a seminar in San Diego, California. This material has been in storage for over 20 years and has been digitally remastered for optimum viewing quality. This program offers a real technical bonanza for students of Iwama Aikido. Saito Sensei systematically covers a lengthy series of ushirowaza, or rear techniques, in his inimitable teaching manner full of detailed explanation spiced with a touch of humor. The ushirowaza are among the most beautiful and elaborate of aikido techniques handed down by Aikido founder Moreihei Ueshiba."--container.
note: In Library Use Only
The Lost Seminars San Diego, California, September 1989 /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 L678 2008 Resource contains video
Check availability

"This is the fourth volume of a DVD series presenting important historical footage of Morihiro Saito from his active years conducting seminars in Japan and abroad. The footage you will see in this program is from a weekend seminar Saito Sensei taught in 1989 at Sunset Cliffs Aikido in San Diego, California. This DVD includes many techniqures from ryotedori, shomenuchi, and morotedori attacks. Saito Sensei also gives a detailed presentation of nikyo techniques and seldom-taught releases from a variety of ushiro holds."--container.
note: In Library Use Only
The Lost Seminars San Diego, California, September 1991 /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 L678 2008 Resource contains video
Check availability

"This is the fifth volume of a DVD series presenting important historical footage of Morihiro Saito from his active years conducting seminars in Japan and abroad. The footage you will see in this program is from a weekend seminar Saito Sensei taught in 1991 at Sunset Cliffs Aikido in San Diego, California. The material covered in this program includes the complete series of morotedori kokyuho exercises, numerous ushiro ryotedori and eridori techniques, and--a special treat--the ninindori series, advanced techniques against two opponents."--container.
note: In Library Use Only
The Lost Seminars San Diego, California, September 1994 /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 L678 2009 Resource contains video
Check availability

"This program is the seventh part of a DVD series presenting important historical footage of Morihiro Saito from his active years conducting seminars in Japan and abroad. The scenes you will see in this compilation are from a weekend seminar Saito Sensei taught in 1994 at Sunset Cliffs Aikido in San Diego, California. The instruction in this DVD covers in great detail iriminage, kotegaeshi, and koshinage techniques from numerous different attacks including both basic and ki no nagare variations. Saito Sensei reveals the depth of Iwama Aikido in his own inimitable teaching style delivering an essential installment of still more of the vast technical curriculum bequeathed by the founder of Aikido."--container.
note: In Library Use Only

  General Collection

Aikido for Life
Print Location: GV1114.35 .H6 1990
Check availability
Discusses the philosophy behind aikido, demonstrates beginning lessons, and shows how to apply its principles to one's life.
Takemusu Aikido : Volume 1 : Background & basics /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 2010
Check availability

The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Martial Arts, Tai Chi & Aikido : a Practical Guide to the Martial Arts of Tae Kwondo, Karate, Ju-jitsu, Judo, Kung Fu, Kendo, Iaido and Shinto Ryu with a Special Focus on T'ai chi and Aikido /
Print Location: GV1101 .G663 2010
Check availability

Aikido : its Heart and Appearance
Print Location: GV1111 .S26
Check availability

Beyond the Known : The Ultimate Goal of the Martial Arts
Print Location: GV1102.7 .P75 D36 1993
Check availability

Book of Five Rings
Print Location: U101 .M5913 2005
Check availability

Bushido : The Warrior's Code
Print Location: CR6090 .B8 N52 1979
Check availability

Takemusu Aikido : Volume 2 : More Basics /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 1996
Check availability

Takemusu Aikido : Volume 3 : Basics Concluded /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 1999
Check availability

Takemusu Aikidō : Volume 5 : Bukidori & Ninindori /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S355 2001
Check availability

Takemusu Aikidō Special Edition : Commentary on Budo /
Print Location: GV1114.34 .U418 1999
Check availability

Takemusu Aikidō. Volume 4 : Kokyūnage /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .S35 2001
Check availability

The Art of Peace /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .U39 2007
Check availability

The Book of Tea
Print Location: GT2910 .O6 2013
Check availability

The Heart of Aikido : The Philosophy of Takemusu Aiki /
Print Location: GV1114.35 .U37 2010
Check availability

The Japanese Mind : Understanding Contemporary Japanese Culture
Print Location: DS830 .J35 2002
Check availability

  Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals, including biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education, and sports medicine.
Table of Contents


Powered by SubjectsPlus