The Library at NHCC

Subject Search Terms

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Subscription Resources

EBSCO Ebooks Restricted Resource Some full text availableebook
Offers a collection of electronic versions of current scholarly and academic press books, as well as trade books for academic libraries. Over 80, 000 full text books where you can open an account, read online, annotate and cite your book with just a few clicks.
Films On Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

  Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Print Location: REFERENCE GN 307 .E52 2002
Check availability
The Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology provides a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline which discusses human social and cultural life in all its diversity and difference. Theory, ethnography and history are combined in over 230 substantial entries on topics as wide ranging as race, postmodernism, witchcraft and essentialism, magic and methodology.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mankind
Print Location: REFERENCE GN307 .I44 1989
Check availability
Richly illustrated set covers over 500 peoples and cultures.

  General Reference Works

Credo General Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

  Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Anthropology : The Basics
Print Location: GN 24 .M47 2005
Check availability

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Established in 1997, JSTOR's first collection includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics. Overall, there are 119 titles in fifteen disciplines.

  Official Agency and Organization Web Sites

American Anthropological Association
"Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology..."

  Internet Resources

Anthropology Subject Guide -- LSU Libraries
From LSU An excellent set of links to museums, Web sites, college departments, key Archaeological sites, etc.
Ethnographic Resources related to Folklore, Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, and the Humanities
Organized access to these ethnographic resources is maintained by the Folklife Center of the Library of Congress. Provides menu access to general sources, directories, scholarly programs, listings of archival collections, grants & awards, journals & newsletters, societies, educators' resources, field work, indigenous peoples' resources, and mythology & narrative.
Institute for Social Research
"The University of Michigan Institute for Social Research (ISR) is one of the largest and oldest academic survey and social research organizations in the world. Representing the disciplines of psychology, political science, economics, anthropology and public health, ISR research scientists have directed some of the longest-running and most widely cited and utilized studies in the nation."
Search for Books
video


Powered by SubjectsPlus