The Library at NHCC

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Subscription Resources

Films On Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

  Dictionaries

Dictionary of Biology
Print Location: REFERENCE QH 302.5 .D53 2000
Check availability
The Dictionary offers more than 5,500 clear and concise entries, including more than 300 entries new to this edition. It provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, includes biographical entries on key scientists, and features highlighted entries on important topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecular evolution, and protein structure.

  General Reference Works

Credo General Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Evolution vs. Creationism
Print Location: REFERENCE QH367 .S395 2009
Check availability
This book is a useful introduction to the debate over evolution, with key arguments by evolutionary theorists and creationists juxtaposed.
Handy Biology Answer Book
Print Location: REFERENCE QH349 .H36 2004
Check availability
"Handy Biology answers 1,600 questions about human, animal, and plant biology. Easy to use and a friendly reference source for general science readers and students, "Handy Biology is organized in sixteen chapters with 110 illustrations plus dozens of charts and tables. "Handy Biology explains the workings of cell structure and function, bacteria, viruses, plan diversity, animal diversity, DNA and chromosomes, genetics, biotechnology and genetic engineering, evolution and adaptation, the environment, laboratory techniques, and more.

  Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

A Number of Animals
Print Location: PZ7.G82354 Nu 2012 Some full text available
Check availability
Book by Kate Green
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Science Direct Restricted Resource
Provides full-text access to over 890 high-quality scientific and technical journals, in such areas as nursing, medicine, pharmacology, and the environmental and biological sciences.

  Web Sites

Tree of Life Web Project
Expanding Web site of more than 1,300 schematic trees that map out biological relationships, evolutionary history and characterisitcs of organisms.

  Internet Resources

Animal Diversity Web
Each animal is classified with detailed descriptions of habitat, range, reproduction, food habits, communication and more.
Avibase - The World Bird Database
Information about 10,000 species of birds including distribution, taxonomy and synonyms.
BIODIDAC
"A bank of digital resources for teaching biology" includes human biology
Biosciences - The WWW Virtual Library
An index to web sites relating to Biology.
National Center for Biotechnology Information
A huge government web site that focuses on biological and medical research. Includes biotechnology databases, human and animal gene sequencing, and much more.
Ornithological Worldwide Literature (OWL)
Search the worldwide scientific literature that pertain to the science of ornithology, specifically, the 'grey' literature, which are not abstracted by commercial databases.
Plant Facts
Find web sites, images, videos, and more about horticulture, crop science and gardening from Ohio State University.
The Center for North American Herpetology
List of scientific and common names for all North American reptiles and amphibians including images and more.
The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Authoritative information on the conservation status, taxonomy, and distribuion of animals and many plants with their risk of extinction.
Search for Books


Powered by SubjectsPlus