The Library at NHCC

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Subscription Resources

EBSCO Ebooks Restricted Resource Some full text availableebook
Offers a collection of electronic versions of current scholarly and academic press books, as well as trade books for academic libraries. Over 80, 000 full text books where you can open an account, read online, annotate and cite your book with just a few clicks.
Films On Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

  Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Business
Print Location: REFERENCE HF 1001 .E55 2004
Check availability
Five general areas of business are covered: accounting, banking, finance, marketing, and management. Terms, concepts, and associations that one is most likely to encounter in business are the focus of the volume, making it a great place to start learning about how businesses operate and what the primary and different features of specific business-related functions or ideas mean.

  Dictionaries

Ultimate Business Dictionary : Defining the World of Work
Print Location: REFERENCE HF 1001 .U47 2003
Check availability
Containing definitions of more than six thousand entries, The Ultimate Business Dictionary reflects the globalization of English as the lingua franca of business, and offers several unique features, including translations of all terms into Chinese, Japanese, French, German, and Spanish (Castilian and Latin American); abbreviations, acronyms, and slang; concise biographical profiles of key business thinkers and leaders; listings of international stock exchanges and trade organizations; and a section on finance and accounting terms and ratios.

  Handbooks & Manuals

Hoovers Handbook of American Business 2009
Print Location: REFERENCE HG4057 .A28617 2008
Check availability
This comprehensive volume contains in-depth profiles of 750 of America's largest and most influential companies.
Hoovers Handbook of Private Companies 2009
Print Location: REFERENCE HG4057 .A28616 2009
Check availability
Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies covers 900 nonpublic U.S. enterprises including large industrial and service corporations.
Hoovers Handbook of World Business, 2009
Print Location: REFERENCE HG4057 .H66 2009
Check availability
Did you know that American icon 7-Eleven is controlled by Japanese retail giant Ito-Yokado, Miller Beer is brewed by South African Brewer SABMiller, and that the Los Angeles Dodgers are owned by The News Corporation, an Australian company?.

  Biographical Sources

Icons of business : An Encyclopedia of Mavericks, Movers, and Shakers
Print Location: REFERENCE HC102.5.A2 D74 2007
Check availability
In this encyclopedia, 23 prominent figures in the contemporary business world are profiled, with discussions of their personalities, career path, leadership style, organizations, skills, and traits, as well as information on biography and their personal lives. How these leaders wield power in the political arena is also discussed, and sections on criticism of them and their future impact are included.

  General Reference Works

Credo General Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

  Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Electric Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Offers full-text access to articles from magazines, newspapers, and various reference publications, as well as television and radio transcripts and photographs.

  General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to articles in all areas of business from more than 8,000 publications. Also gives detailed company information for the world's 10,000 largest corporations.
Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Incorporates 75 regional business publications covering the larger metropolitan areas in the United States.

  Official Agency and Organization Web Sites

Bureau of Ecomomic Analysis

BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public.
 


Census Bureau Economic Statistics
The U.S. Economic Census offers detailed statistics and information on all aspects of business and industry in the United States, including retail trade, manufacturing, and other sectors.
 
Industries at a Glance
from the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.
North American Industry Classification System

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
 


Securities Exchange Commission

The mission of the SEC is to protect investors; maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets; and facilitate capital formation. The SEC strives to promote a market environment that is worthy of the public's trust. Since 1934, the SEC has required disclosure in forms and documents. In 1984, EDGAR began collecting electronic documents to help investors get information. The SEC's new system requires data disclosure — the next step to improve how investors find and use information.
 


  Internet Resources

Annual Reports
Directory of more than 2,200 online fulltext corporate annual reports and related financial reports. Best for U.S. companies or companies listed on NYSE, NASDAQ, or AMEX exchanges.
Business.com - The Business Search Engine and Business Directory
A business-focused Internet search engine and directory; "contains more than 400,000 listings within 25,000 industry, product and service subcategories."
CNN Money
CNN's web page for business and finance.
Corporate Information
A specialized portal and search engine for U.S. and international business. Searches free, fee-based, and subscription-based Websites for company information (name or ticker), industry information, state or country business information, and current businesses.
Minneapolis St. Paul Business Journal

Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal, where you'll find the latest breaking business news updated throughout the day, top stories from the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal.
 


Twin Cities Business

Twin Cities Business is Minnesota’s leading provider of business news, insight, and analysis through daily online news stories, e-newsletters, a monthly print magazine and live events. Along with our readers, we get to know the personalities of our region’s most influential leaders, exploring the “how” behind their success, strategies, and solutions. We discuss today’s most pressing issues, examine trends and outlooks, and provide the context, perspective, and information leaders have come to depend upon.
 


Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Abrazo

Lisa Abrazo
Librarian
(763) 424-0738
labrazo@nhcc.edu

Search for Books


Powered by SubjectsPlus