The Library at NHCC

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Subscription Resources

Films On Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

  Dictionaries

Visual Thesaurus
An online thesaurus and dictionary of over 145000 words that you explore using an interactive map. It's a tool for people who think visually.

  Reports

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides in-depth, non-biased coverage of current political and social issues. A great resource for "controversial topics" assignments.

  General Reference Works

Credo General Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

  Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Electric Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Offers full-text access to articles from magazines, newspapers, and various reference publications, as well as television and radio transcripts and photographs.
PsychARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains over 150,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
note: 1894 to the present

  General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

Proquest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
An index to the articles appearing in more than 400 national and international newspapers, including the Minneapolis Star Tribune.

  Electronic Journal Collections

Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Points of View Reference Centerâ„¢ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 270 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

  Internet Resources

Minnesota Council on Nonprofits
The Minnesota Council of Nonprofits (MCN) was founded in 1987 to meet the increasing information needs of nonprofits and to convene nonprofits to address issues facing the sector. It is the largest state association of nonprofits in the U.S. Through MCN, nonprofits join together across interest areas to work on issues of common concern to all.
Public Speakers' Page
From University of Hawai'i Maui Community College Speech Department, check out the amazing resources, tips and handouts to help you be successful in your speeches or public speaking.
Speeches and Speechmakers
From the University of Iowa, Department of Communication Studies, a list of online Communication Studies resources.
U.S. Department of Defense - Speeches
U.S. Department of Defense, Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense (Public Affairs)Speeches
Search for Books


Powered by SubjectsPlus