The Library at NHCC

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Subscription Resources

EBSCO Ebooks Restricted Resource Some full text availableebook
Offers a collection of electronic versions of current scholarly and academic press books, as well as trade books for academic libraries. Over 80, 000 full text books where you can open an account, read online, annotate and cite your book with just a few clicks.
Films On Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

  Dictionaries

Visual Thesaurus
An online thesaurus and dictionary of over 145000 words that you explore using an interactive map. It's a tool for people who think visually.

  Reports

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides in-depth, non-biased coverage of current political and social issues. A great resource for "controversial topics" assignments.

  General Reference Works

Credo General Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

  Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Electric Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Offers full-text access to articles from magazines, newspapers, and various reference publications, as well as television and radio transcripts and photographs.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Points of View Reference Centerâ„¢ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 270 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

  Internet Resources

Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
This popular book is an indispensable and entertaining guide for writers, proofreaders, editors, managers, clerical staff, teachers, and students. Use this site to find the answers to your questions concerning proper English grammar and punctuation.
EServer.org: Accessible Writing
The EServer is an arts and humanities e-publishing co-op based at Iowa State University where hundreds of writers, editors and scholars gather to publish over 35,000 works free of charge.
Ipl2 Literary Criticism
Directs you to websites for criticism and biographical information about writers.
Literary Resources on the Net
"...set of pages is a collection of links to sites on the Internet dealing especially with English and American literature, excluding most single electronic texts, and is limited to collections of information useful to academics — I've excluded most poetry journals, for instance."
Search for Books


Powered by SubjectsPlus