The Library at NHCC

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Subscription Resources

Films On Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

  Dictionaries

Visual Thesaurus
An online thesaurus and dictionary of over 145000 words that you explore using an interactive map. It's a tool for people who think visually.

  Reports

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides in-depth, non-biased coverage of current political and social issues. A great resource for "controversial topics" assignments.

  General Reference Works

Credo General Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

  Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Electric Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Offers full-text access to articles from magazines, newspapers, and various reference publications, as well as television and radio transcripts and photographs.

  Internet Resources

Activities for ESL Students
The Internet TESL Journal's Things for ESL Teachers and Activities for ESL Students
English Works!
Tutorial and Instructional resources for students.
ESL Reading--Resources and Exercises
Reading comprehension exercises for English as a Second Language readers.
Linguist List: Language Learning
A great list of ESOL internet based resources from Eastern Michigan University.
Listen and Repeat Podcast: Improve Your English Pronunciation
This web site is for people studying English as a Second Language (ESL) or English as a Foreign Language (EFL). There are quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer assisted language learning activities.
Listening/Speaking links for ESOL - Richland College
ESOL listening and speaking links from Richland College.
PIZZAZ, Creative Writing & Storytelling, Opp-Beckman
Simple creative writing and oral storytelling activities with printable handouts for: Poetry | Fiction | Bag of Tricks. These activities scale well to beginner through advanced level proficiency and can be used with all ages.
Search for Books


Powered by SubjectsPlus