The Library at NHCC

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Subscription Resources

Films On Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

  General Reference Works

Credo General Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

  Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals, including biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education, and sports medicine.

  Official Agency and Organization Web Sites

Minnesota Department of Education

The goal of Health Education and Physical Education programs in Minnesota is to offer students educational opportunities that promote healthy, lifelong lifestyle decisions. Working together, parents, schools, and the state of Minnesota are making a real difference in the health and well being of our students.


The National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE)
The National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE) is the non-profit professional membership association that sets the standard for best practices in quality physical education and sport. NASPE is the largest of the five national associations that make up the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD).

  Internet Resources

Coaching Science Abstracts
Promoting evidence-based coaching content and procedures, written and produced by Brent S. Rushall, Ph.D., R.Psy. San Diego State University
Journal of Sports Science & Medicine
The Journal of Sports Science and Medicine (JSSM) is a non-profit making scientific electronic journal, publishing research and review articles, together with case studies, in the fields of sports medicine and the exercise sciences.
PE Central: The Premier Web Site for Health and Physical Education Teachers
Includes updated information about developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children and youth. Lesson plans, assessment ideas, adaptive PE plans, best practices, research, and professional information.
SIRC SportQuest
SIRC SportQuest is a bibliographic database producer of sport, fitness, and sports medicine information. Use the site search engine to locate fulltext articles and other publications. Some search features require an individual user subscription.
Sports Journal
Monthly refereed sports journal, published by the United States Sports Academy.
Search for Books


Powered by SubjectsPlus