The Library at NHCC

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Subscription Resources

Films On Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

  Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Print Location: REFERENCE LB 1027.55 .E54 2005
Check availability

Popular Psychology : an Encyclopedia
Print Location: REFERENCE BF 31 .C7 2005
Check availability

  Handbooks & Manuals

Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-5.
Print Location: REF RC455.2 .C4 D536 2013
Check availability

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-IV-TR
Print Location: REF RC455.2.C4 D54 2000
Check availability

International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems 10th Revision
ICD-10 is the 10th revision of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD), a medical classification list by the World Health Organization (WHO). It contains codes for diseases, signs and symptoms, abnormal findings, complaints, social circumstances, and external causes of injury or diseases
Handbook of Adolescent Psychology
Print Location: REFERENCE BF724 .H33 2009
Check availability

note: v. 1. Individual bases of adolescent development -- v. 2. Contextual influences on adolescent development.

  General Reference Works

Credo General Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Praeger International Collection on Addictions
Print Location: REFERENCE HV4998 .P72 2009
Check availability

note: v. 1. Faces of addiction, then and now -- v. 2. Psychobiological profiles -- v. 3. Characteristics and treatment perspectives -- v. 4. Behavioral addictions from concept to compulsion.

  Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
PsychARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains over 150,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
note: 1894 to the present

  Internet Resources

American Psychological Association
Official web site of the American Psychological Association.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. The Library search includes links to over 22,300 bibliographic citations and abstracts.
Classics in the History of Psychology
Classics in the History of Psychology is an effort to make the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web. There are now over 25 books and about 200 articles and chapters on-line. The site also contains links to over 200 relevant works posted at other sites.
Institute for Social Research
"The University of Michigan Institute for Social Research (ISR) is one of the largest and oldest academic survey and social research organizations in the world. Representing the disciplines of psychology, political science, economics, anthropology and public health, ISR research scientists have directed some of the longest-running and most widely cited and utilized studies in the nation."
National Center for PTSD
"The National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) was created within the Department of Veterans Affairs to address the needs of veterans with military-related PTSD. This website is provided as an educational resource concerning PTSD and other enduring consequences of traumatic stress, for a variety of audiences."
Psychological Research on the Net
Sponsored by the Hanover College Psychology Department links to known experiments on the internet that are psychologically related. They are organized by general topic area with the topic areas listed chronologically with the most recently added at the top.
Search for Books


Powered by SubjectsPlus